• Cognition
  • Posts
  • Cognition #29: 12 Freelancing Tips from my Career

Cognition #29: 12 Freelancing Tips from my Career

PART 1: The Mandatory Basics

There is a problem with applied knowledge content. Or rather, ‘challenge’ might be a good word to use.

Since everything (or say at least 80%) of what I write in Cognition is derived from my work, I don’t always have interesting things happening in my career.

Not always do I get projects like writing copy for the Naruto campaign or naming a brand.

Sometimes, it’s just simple things on repeat—stuff you already know, and me mentioning them again won’t make any significant impact.

Mid-May to Mid-June was one such month.

Either I didn’t have enough interesting projects, or I didn’t gather enough data yet to convert into a full-fledged Cognition issue.

So this issue, I want to turn back the clock and reflect on my freelancing career so far.

If I could travel back in time and coach myself when I had just started, there are a few points I would say to a young Vikra:

1. Fuck Networking, Make Friends

I am grateful to Urvashi, Meena, Mitesh, and Tushar for introducing the concept of making friends over networking.

Networking is all about being professional, trying to talk shop all the time, and then saying bye-bye. The most probable result is you talk once and never get in touch with them again. The best-case scenario is you admire them for their work and occasionally drop appreciation messages.

Making friends is talking shop + talking shit. It’s important.

Especially for freelancers, because we work remotely and don’t have ‘colleagues.’ Think of your parents: They always have one colleague from work they want to hang out with. It’s because they made a friend more than a professional acquaintance.

It’s what we are missing in the digital world. We still need friends in the professional space. Talk to people about their cities, childhood, journey, hobbies, aspirations, relationships, etc. Make people comfortable enough to answer these questions.

2. Charge advance because SHIT HAPPENS

“Okay I’ll charge the client after the work is done” is a big no no!

I have had enough experience with clients pausing a project mid-way or even not paying after the work is done.

If you are working with someone for the first time, don’t ever think of proceeding without an advance.

Having said that, you’re a stranger to them too and why should they trust you with their money? That’s why I charge 50%, not the entire fee. I feel it’s a fair deal.

Taking advance > Taking the concept of advance for granted

3. Referrals are the hidden gold mines

While working with a client or after you’re done with them, ask them to refer you to their network.

People who hire know people who hire. Leverage their network.

I got four clients on referrals so far.

4. Systems separate Order from Chaos

Create systems that make your life smoother. Both in terms of the way you work and communicate with clients.

Examples for both:

The way I work:I never take up urgent projects (gigs like Hey, I want this delivered by tomorrow) unless it’s astonishingly high-paying or something I really really want to do.

I don’t want to compromise on my peace and a rather smooth routine for some usual gig. It puts me in chaos and I don’t want that.

The way I communicate:I tell my clients, “You can message me any time of the day. Literally ANY TIME, but give me 24 hours to respond.”

It’s because there was a time I used to drop everything and start responding to my clients immediately. I realized it’s not always necessary, and things are rarely urgent. Now I only respond during my work hours.

ALSO: Make templates for as many departments as possible. It saves a hell of a lot of time. I have templates for pitches, invoices, contracts, etc.

5. Clients love two things

One, speed. Two, being informed/involved.

Try to set a deadline and submit the work a day or two prior to the deadline. Trust me, clients love this. Conversely, it’s annoying when they don’t receive content on the due date.

Honest Truth:

Although I say speed is important, I myself submit the work a day late most times.

Thankfully, clients understand I do this because I’m unsatisfied with the output and need more time to polish content. Plus, they value my work and feel a day of waiting will be worth it.

(Not proud of making people wait)

Guess what, this is where I do the second right thing: INFORM.

I know I’m gonna push the deadline. So I inform them of the revised deadline and the reason for the delay.

You don’t want to leave clients hanging. Give them clarity.

I have to appreciate my clients for being polite enough to understand the delay, even if it’s for personal reasons.

6. Don’t hold back on promoting yourself

No, wait.

I’m not talking about the frequency of your promotions on social media. I’m talking about the mindset.

I see many freelancers downplay themselves or are afraid to tell, ‘They are the best.’ If you’re not showing confidence in yourself, why should a prospect do so? Think about it.

A meme I made recently is a good example of it:

Or this Tweet:

So yeah, these are the six tips from the first part—I’ve kept them pretty basic.

In the next issue (on or before June 30th), I’ll share my learnings on hiring, documentation, accounting, niching down, and more.

Stay tuned!

Non-Technical aka Fun Segment

Movies/Shows I loved recently

I watched some good shows and movies in the last two weeks. Happy that I took time for these.

  1. Sirf Ek Banda Kaafi HaiThe movie was good. Never got bored, it’s engaging, and I love watching Manoj Bajpayee act.

  2. Avatar: The Way of WaterThe story is predictable and simple. I loved the experience. It’s aesthetic, visually appealing, and great for a one-time watch. People who watched it in theatres in 3D might have had a good time.

  3. Writer PadmabushanIt’s a Telugu film. The movie received positive responses after its release, but I kind of had high hopes based on the lead actor’s previous films. I felt the movie was okayish. Decent one-time watch.

  4. Basic vs. BallerIt’s a travel reality show. I only watched one episode, I loved the idea. So there are two brothers who travel to the same destinations. The only difference is one lives a luxurious life (Baller) and the other one travels on a budget (Basic).Who plays Basic and who plays Baller is decided by a simple Quiz question.

  5. Secret InvasionWatched the first episode and I’m happy Marvel is finally Marveling.

  6. Asur 2I watched Asur in 2020, and I loved it. It’s still one of my favourite series. The second season didn’t disappoint. It’s as gripping and sharp as the first.I got back to listening to Shape of You after watching the documentary The Sum of it All. This song is surely a beautiful one.

That’s all from Cognition #29.

I’ll see you in a week.

Stay safe, take care, and learn from your mistakes (or turn them into content.)

Also: If you love Cognition, do talk about it on social media, forward this email to your friends, or share newsletter links.

Thanks in advance and sharing a lot of hugs!