• Cognition
  • Posts
  • Cognition #7: Portfolio for a freelancer, especially if you don't create content.

Cognition #7: Portfolio for a freelancer, especially if you don't create content.

It's strange how I wrote six editions without discussing freelancing.

Hence, in today's edition, I'm gonna talk about one of the most significant factors of your freelance business—Portfolio.

We're gonna dive into details and discuss in-depth about:

  1. Is portfolio just a link with work samples?

  2. Mock vs. Work portfolio—What to build?

  3. Portfolio expansion: Entering into a new niche.

  4. Updating portfolio.

  5. Non-technical, aka fun segment!

Let the Cognition begin!

Is portfolio just a link with work samples? NO!

I'm sure you'd define a portfolio as a link with work samples, which is true.

But a portfolio is much more than just work samples when you look at it as a business owner rather than a service provider.

To understand this, let us list different scenarios when a portfolio is used:

  • A prospect approaches you and asks for your portfolio.

  • You pitch a prospect and attach your portfolio.

  • Your portfolio is public, and visitors view it.

  • Someone refers your portfolio to prospects.

In all cases, prospects bring you business + they visit your portfolio.

Now, if you create content on social media, it's a different situation. Apart from your portfolio, you have your personal brand and content that helps prospects decide if you're the right person for the gig.

But if you're a freelancer who does not create content, your portfolio is everything you have to convince prospects you're the best.

I'm emphasizing this because I observed most freelancers treat their portfolio as a web page, not a website.

There is one picture, a one-line description of how you can help prospects, and links to projects. That's it!

It is never enough, considering you don't create content or don't have a personal brand.

What can you do to persuade prospects?

Well, here is a list of things you can include on your portfolio to make it look more like a website over a webpage:

  1. Have distinguished sections: Differentiate landing page, about, projects, contact sections, etc.

  2. Picture or video: An introductory video on the landing page is great, but a picture is usually enough for a portfolio.

  3. Roles, skills, and responsibilities: Mention precisely what you do, did, and can do.

  4. Numbers, facts, and figures: Numbers are your strongest players. If you've got good numbers, never shy away from flexing. They always make an impact.

  5. Services provided: Tell exactly what you do. To avoid ambiguity, even mention what you don't.

  6. Endorsements and testimonials: Customers believe customers. The same applies to clients. Make sure you play your testimonial game right.

  7. CTAs/CTVs: Persuade prospects to act and hire you.

  8. Contact links: Make yourself approachable and easily accessible.

  9. About: Pour your creativity. Describe your experience. Show your personality. Show 'em why you, and why not others.

  10. And, of course, projects: Keep it precise. Describe the project if needed. Simpler, the best.

Remember:

"Your portfolio is for the prospects. Everything you include in your portfolio must have a sole objective—to persuade prospects to hire you. Nothing more. Nothing less."

Also, your portfolio should clear all the doubts a prospect has. You can see how I did it with my portfolio here.

And remember,

"You're not just a service provider, but a business owner.

Treat freelancing like a business."

Building portfolio!

Since you've understood how to set up your portfolio and what to include, there are two ways you can build it.

  1. Mock portfolio.

  2. Work portfolio.

What is a mock portfolio?

You pick a popular brand and give them service without actually giving them a service.

For example, if you're a graphic designer, you don't need to find a client to design something. You pick a brand and design its content. Like select Rolex's content, and design a social media post for Rolex. That's it.

Remember: You're not doing this to impress Rolex or to get hired by Rolex. You're doing this because you might want to work with similar brands, and Rolex is something they can relate to. So you're just building a design in the relevant niche.

What is a work portfolio?

Here, you build your portfolio while working with actual clients. You approach people—it can be your friends, family, colleagues, people you know on social media, inbound and outbound leads, referrals, etc.

So yeah, you approach people, provide service, and then add the work to your portfolio + collect testimonials.

For example, if you're a performance marketer and you've run ads for an apparel brand, your portfolio now covers the B2C industry and apparel niche.

Mock vs Work portfolio—What to build?

My personal inclination is towards the work portfolio. I'll tell you why.

Oftentimes, we think freelancing is about having a skill and a gig. It's untrue. Many things happen at the backend.

You don't just do the client work—You cold pitch them, get on calls, communicate, negotiate, persuade, network, etc.

These are highly essential skills that you can nurture only while working with real-time clients.

On the other hand, you're the only one working on the project while building a mock portfolio. You're in control of everything. You're free to do anything you feel is right.

But in reality, you have to convince your clients with your ideas. There are multiple rounds of edits too. And yeah, you need to go through several iterations before you and your client get on common ground.

Again, you learn this only when you work with a client.

I always choose to build a work portfolio over a mock portfolio because it gives me on-site experience. I'd suggest the same.

But does that mean mock portfolios are bad?

Absolutely not!

My view is that mock samples make great social media posts.

If you're a copywriter, you can write copies for McDonald's, KFC, or Cream Stone. Oh God, I love food.

Okay, back to the topic.

You can write copies for famous brands and post them on your socials. Since a large audience can relate to these brands, your posts tend to get more traction, and if someone likes your work, you might get leads.

Also, a mock portfolio is a great way to improve your skill.

It's because you're trying to meet the standard of the industry's top professionals, if not trying to be better than them.

This approach to meet the brand's values, standards, and audience's expectations brings the best in you and improves your skill exponentially.

Vikra, you say the work portfolio is better than mock. But what if I'm a beginner and I don't have clients?

I say there are multiple ways to get clients, but the most effective one is free work.

You approach people saying you'd work with them for free or at low prices, and in return, you'll use the work on your portfolio and seek a testimonial.

This way, you get client experience, you choose the industry/niche you want to work in, and your portfolio builds too.

You're anyhow building your mock portfolio for free. Why not invest the same time in gaining practical experience + portfolio building?

Remember: Try to keep these free samples short.

  • If you're a content writer, don't write 1000 word articles. 350-500 words will do.

  • If you're a graphic designer, don't design an entire carousel. One post will do.

  • If you're a video editor, don't edit a 60-minute video. A 5-minute clip will do.

This method is not just for beginners. It's effective for anyone who is looking to diversify.

Portfolio expansion: Entering into a new niche.

I'll tell you how I applied the technique recently.

I was doing well in content writing. I worked in multiple niches and I've got a fair idea of how to write content for brands. Most importantly, my portfolio had some diversity.

Now, I want to get into copywriting.

I did a few copywriting projects here and there.

I knew the theory. I lacked experience.

So I tweeted this.

I chose taglines because they are not very time-consuming + they help me get client and industry experience.

Also, there is one more advantage. I get to learn about a writing form.

For example, if I have to write a landing page for free, I not only read, learn, and research about what's needed for that landing page.

Parallelly, I'll also consume everything I need to know about landing pages in general.

Also, I work on execution while I'm learning theory.

I enter new niches with low rates. I don't worry about money for new niches, and I'll work more on nurturing the skill.

Once I'm sure about the time, effort, research, and skill required for a particular niche, I will be able to quote the right price and have some proof in my portfolio to back my pricing.

Within no time, my portfolio starts expanding.

Updating portfolio

"Updating a portfolio regularly is as important as building one."

You can update:

  1. The portfolio's content for every 2-3 months.

  2. Add new projects in new niches, industries, etc.

  3. Replace the previous projects with better ones.

  4. About section—add if you have any new achievements, skills, etc.

  5. Testimonials, numbers, facts, figures, etc.

A portfolio that's not updated is a turn-off for the prospect. #dontbethatguy.

So that's everything you need to know about portfolios as a freelancer or service provider.

Ahhh! Did I say that???? Okay, it's business owner.

Before we end the technical segment, I'd love to give a big SHOUTOUT to fueler.io.

They help you build your proof of work. You can also create a bucket of skills if you work in different domains. The product is very intuitive, and trust me, you'd love to have a Fueler profile.

You can make yours here: fueler.io.

Yes, I love the product and genuinely gave a shoutout to fueler.

But I'm gonna give you a little insight here:

Fueler didn't pay me to give a shoutout. I volunteered because I wanted to.

Two things happen here:

  1. I give you, the readers, something relevant and a proper tool to act and build a portfolio/proof of work.

  2. I can show brands how I promote their products when I pitch for newsletter sponsorships in the future.

You see how I'm promoting the product I love for free and then paving the way for brand sponsorships in the future?

"That's the power of entering the industry by providing something for free."

The technical segment ends here. We'll have some fun now.

Hop in!

Non-technical aka fun segment!

Favourite quote from a book

“What you are afraid of is never as bad as what you imagine. The fear you let build up in your mind is worse than the situation that actually exists.”

Who Moved My Cheesa by Spencer Johnson.

Ugh! The impact this book made on me is immense.

I don't think there is anything left for me to explain here. The quote pretty much says it all. If you can, please read Who Moved My Cheese. It's a very short read, and you feel like you're watching a cartoon.

It's about predicting, analyzing, and altering the inevitable change.

Movie I watched this week

I didn't watch a movie this week, but I have a suggestion for you.

A beautiful mind is one of the most heart-touching and suspenseful films I watched. It's a biographical drama and a must-watch!

Originally in English and available on Netflix. Watch the trailer below.

Tweets I loved

[tweet https://twitter.com/UpSkillYourLife/status/1497043682217787392]

YouTube video I loved

I watched this conversation between Tanmay, Harish, and Akshay. It's about CRED's design and art in general.

I urge you to watch this even if you have nothing to do with design. The thoughts of Harish were very beautiful.

Song I’m listening to on a loop

I haven't watched Gehraiyaan yet. But I love the vibe of the song Doobey. Especially when it goes, "Uff yeh gehraiyaan..."

Give it a listen.

That's it from today's edition. I hope you loved it.

Do share about Cognition on socials if you're enjoying the experience. It'd mean a lot to me.

I'll see you next week.

Until then, stay safe, take care, and update your portfolio!!

Love,

Vikra Vardhan.

Enjoyed Cognition? You can always gift Vikra chocolates as a token of appreciation. He’s a BIGGG foodie. He loves to eat.

Or you can just support Vikra.